Process Vs. Product

As I stumble through my art work, I have begun to truly appreciate the value of process. I have realized that process is more valuable than the product. When I work on a piece at some point always, I find myself at a standstill, when my original idea seems eons away from my work. When I reach this point, I must learn how to create what I originally envisioned. Often when painting, this results in having to paint and repaint until I have created something that is along the lines of my original intent. With a close attention to detail, the process is often drawn out, as I continually adjust and revise my pieces. Through this continual process, I learn a great deal; I am able to develop techniques and learn about the particular medium I am working with. With many people looking to the product it’s the process and it’s importance is too often overlooked.

Leave a Reply

